Jobs and No Career

Basketball coach

English tutor

Residential Life Secretary

First Year Student Athlete Academic Support

Referee

CPR/First Aid Teacher

No, this is not part of a quiz, you know, “choose the job that is most interesting to you.”  This is a “jobs Danielle currently has list.”

Yes, six pretty different jobs that I do every week.

I actually really don’t mind having six random jobs that help me pay the bills (or are the bills as the case with residential life may be).  I kind of like spending four hours at one job, three hours at another, and then ending the day teaching a two hour class.  I can tell you I don’t get bored!   If I’m getting frustrated with one job I don’t have to worry about working at it for 40 hours a week.

I keep telling myself that one day I’ll  have to choose a 9-5 job, one with security, but as I’m coming up on 28 years old I don’t see it quite yet on the horizon.

I graduated college six years ago with a bachelor’s degree in Journalism.  Since then, I’ve had exactly zero jobs in which I have used said degree.  I love writing, as you can see, but it’s only ever been a hobby.

While I sample all of these different types of jobs, I look forward to the day when one of them really steals my heart.  Until then my resume is going to look like that of a job hobo.

Oh well, in the meantime….

Want me to play “Here Comes the Bride,” at your wedding?  Or sing the national anthem at your next event?  I could probably teach your child to play softball or soccer as well as basketball.  And I’m pretty good at cooking, too.

Random job number seven?  Anyone?

Recommend this article
Danielle Clark

About Danielle Clark

I am 28 years old and for 5 years out of college I played basketball for a living. I was a professional basketball player in Europe so I spent most of my years there and came back to Maine for summers and a couple weeks at Christmas time. I thought my years there would open my eyes to what I want to be when I "grow up." That didn't happen. I have discovered, however, that I just have to try something. Just do things and toss myself into them. I have currently tossed myself into being a college basketball assistant coach and one on one reading tutor. I grew up in Corinna, Maine and have been a resident Mainer. I love sports, reading, writing, cooking, baking, watching movies... everything. I have lots of hobbies and not enough time in the day!